The Lost Weekend

You ever had a weekend you just didn’t want to end?

I just had the best weekend I have had in a long time. I spent it with someone awesome and had fun from Friday night on. Eating pizza, watching movies, going out for lunch, taking Rambo to the dog park and going for walks. I could not have imagined a better weekend and it came at the exact right time.

You know those times when you look at the person while you’re singing Al Green and think, I am so happy right now?

When I was younger I used to think that constant happiness was an achievable thing. That when you found the right person, had the right career, had seen and experienced what you wanted, that you would be happy. As I’ve aged, I’ve begun to realise that all happiness really is, is a whole bunch of fleeting moments of pure joy. Those moments where you look at your partner, or friends, or family or dog and think “This is it, this is what it’s about.”

I was searching for complete happiness and the only way I’ve found happiness is to realise it will never be complete. Bad things happen, it sucks, but there’s hope for those moments of pure enjoyment, where you realise you don’t want to be anywhere else, doing anything else, and those are the moments that make it worthwhile. Little things can be filled with happiness, like going for a run, or singing an old favourite song with a friend, taking your dog out, or eating a banana after they’ve been so expensive for so long!

I guess what I’m trying to say is, in a world full of violence, hatred and prejudice, I’m grateful for the little things, for the good people, and for the weekends.

Did you have a good weekend?

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bonnie
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 16:38:23

    Best. Blog. Post. Ever.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 18:33:51

    Thanks : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

