Back to Reality

So today was the first day back at school. Straight back into classes. You know, I always say I don’t want to go, but then when I get there and I see the students I think, it’s not so bad. Yeah sure they’re annoying but in the end they’re the whole reason I’m doing this right?

I have to be honest, teaching is one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. It drains you more than you could imagine and some of the things I have put up with over the last 3 years, I definitely do not get paid enough.

I get the same reaction every time I tell someone what I do for a living: “Wow you’re brave.”

Am I? Who else is going to do it if I don’t? If everyone had that reaction, who would teach the kids?

If it’s not that reaction then someone always feels the need to say “Oh the holidays would be great, you’re so lucky, 9-3 and so many holidays.”

I’m sorry did you just say lucky? Do you realise that I work 7am until 4pm every day, and that is just at school. I come home and do extra work on top of that. Oh the overtime you say? Yep I don’t get paid for any overtime. Let’s talk about the holidays. Well this holidays just passed if I wasn’t marking, or writing units, I was in school with my year 12s running study sessions before their HSC. Yeh, holidays are awesome.

I love being a teacher, and I don’t mind putting in all the extra work, but I wish society would realise how important teaching is. I don’t want this to turn into a rant about poor teachers, I just don’t understand how society can devalue education the way they do. The media portrays teacher’s as the enemy. During the most recent strike, which involved all public sector workers, teacher’s were the most publicised and the media loved showing outraged parents who had to organise other supervision for their children. Look I’m sorry you were inconvenienced, but I spend every day looking after your kids, disciplining them, and teaching them, not only English but about the world, and how to be an open minded, accepting human being.

It is also important to note that teachers were not just striking because of the capped 2.5% pay rise but also because there was talk of raising class sizes to 35 instead of the current 30, which I don’t know if you’ve ever experienced it, but teaching a classroom of 30- 15 year olds is not the easiest task, let alone 35, who by the way wouldn’t physically fit into my classroom. It was also about a lack of funding and resources in the public school system.

I don’t know, maybe it’s just me, but I just don’t get how society can brush over education the way we do. Isn’t it the most important thing in the world? How will we learn from our mistakes? How will we learn skills needed to survive in the real world? How will we learn about the world?

I don’t get it, do you?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mellonknee
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 21:42:45

    Not sure what the logic is behind making teachers the ‘bad guys’ in the media.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

